About Us

welcome background image

About Us

SLTDA is the official government institution tasked with regularising the tourism industry in the country, while establishing, positioning, and developing Sri Lanka as a leading destination for international visitors. SLTDA is responsible for tapping into Sri Lanka's natural potential to expand and enhance its tourism offering while benefiting investors and supporting communities, in a sustainable manner.


Mr. Priantha Fernando

Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority

80, Galle Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka.


Ext: 100

Mr. B.H.R. Sariffo Deen
Director General

Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority

80, Galle Road, Colombo 03, Sri Lanka.


Ext: 207

Ms. Uma Neranjan
Board Member

Tourism Ministry

Mrs. M. Anoma Nandani
Board Member

Additional Director General

Finance Ministry


Mr. ShanthiKumar
Board Member

The Hotels Association of Sri Lanka (THASL)


+94 112 422 001

Mr. Nishad Wijethunga
Board Member

Sri Lanka Association of Inbound Tour Operators (SLAITO)

Mr. Sabry Bahaudeen
Board Member

Travel Agent Association of Sri Lanka

Mr. Nishantha Cooray
Board Member

Minister Appointee

Mr. E.S.G.Edirisinghe
Board Member

Provincial Councils


Mr. Upali Ratnayake
Deputy Director General


+94 011 426800 ( Ext : 328 )

Mrs. Tharanga Rupasinghe
Director / Standards & Quality Assuarance


+94 112 437057 | +94 112 426946

Mr. Chinthaka Abeykoon
Director / Information Communication Technology


+94 112 436321

Dr. Prasad Jayasuriya
Director / Tourism Planning, Development & IRU


+94 112 437062

Mrs. Manjula Weerakkody
Director / Domestic Tourism & Community Relations


+94 011 426800 ( Ext : 335 )

Mrs. Nirosha Kannangara
Director / Legal


+94 011 426800 ( Ext : 308 )

Mr. Udana Wickramasinghe
Director / Research & International Relations


+94 112 544534

Mr. Sampath Ganepalaarachchi
Director / Finance Management


+94 112 437063

Mrs. Karthi M Naheem
Assistant Director / Internal Audit


+94 112 426800 ( Ext : 304 )


In 1966, the Government of Sri Lanka decided to develop tourism in a planned and systematic manner, after identifying the need to set up an institutional framework. The Ceylon Tourist Board, (created by the Ceylon Tourist Board Act No. 10 of 1966.) and the Ceylon Hotels Corporation, (created by Ceylon Hotels Corporation Act of 1966.) were set up to enable this.

Tourism Act

The Tourism Act No 38 of 2005 came into effect in October 2007, replacing the Sri Lanka Tourist Board Act No 10 of 1966, which was in effect for the past 41 years. In terms of the provisions contained in the new act, the Tourism Development Fund was legally constituted, with 2 main sources, (1/3rd of the Airport Tax collections and 1% of the Turnover of all Sri Lanka Tourist Board registered establishments.) contributing finances to the fund.

The Act provided for the setting up of the Sri Lanka Tourism development Authority, thereby replacing the Sri Lanka Tourist Board. The Tourism Promotion Bureau was set up to manage Marketing and Promotion.

Tourism HRD functions and the Hotels School operations are currently undertaken by the Sri Lanka Institute of Tourism & Hotel Management. The Sri Lanka Convention Bureau was also restructured as a statutory body like other Institutions to be managed by an independent Board of Management.

View Tourism Act